French

EDITH CAVELL

née le 4 décembre 1865 – exécutée le 12 octobre 1915

Edith Cavell était la première des quatre enfants du curé de Swardeston. Elle a travaillé comme gouvernante dans l’est de l’Angleterre et à Bruxelles. Agée de 30 ans, elle est retournée s’occuper de son père malade et s’est inscrite comme infirmière stagiaire, souhaitant faire «quelque chose d’utile pour les gens». Après avoir travaillé pendant dix ans dans les quartiers les plus pauvres de Londres et de Manchester, elle a déménagé en 1907 à Bruxelles pour créer la première école d’infirmière professionnelle belge.

En juillet 1914, à Norfolk, en vacances avec sa mère veuve, elle choisit de retourner à Bruxelles pour subvenir aux besoins de ses infirmières alors que la guerre était imminente. Sous l’occupation allemande, elle a secrètement caché des soldats britanniques et français, souvent blessés, dans sa clinique et les a aidés à la liberté en Hollande. [Quatre d’entre eux sont représentés ici: le sergent Fred Meachin et le colonel Dudley Boger, du régiment Cheshire, le soldat Billy Mapes et le sergent Jesse Tunmore, régiment royal de Norfolk]. Elle et tous les participants savaient qu’ils risquaient d’être fusillés pour cela.

Pourquoi se souvient-elle?

En neuf mois, Edith a accueilli plus de 200 soldats. Finalement, elle et son réseau ont été trahis. Trente-cinq personnes ont été arrêtées, interrogées et jugées par un tribunal militaire allemand. Elle et un collègue ont été abattus à l’aube du 12 octobre 1915.

Ses normes élevées, son courage et son amour pour ceux qui sont dans le besoin, même au risque de sa propre vie, sont le résultat de sa forte foi chrétienne. Le 15 mai 1919, elle fut enterrée à l’extrémité est de la cathédrale de Norwich après un service commémoratif national à l’abbaye de Westminster.

Cette statue et son emplacement

Cette statue a été créée par Henry Pegram. Financé par souscription publique, il a été dévoilé par la reine Alexandra le 12 octobre 1918. Les très nombreux participants étaient visibles sur la photo. Cinq maisons de repos Cavell pour infirmières ont été ouvertes en 1917, toutes financées par un abonnement public. La sixième a été ouverte en octobre 1918 dans des locaux maintenant occupés par l’hôtel Maids Head, de l’autre côté de la rue.

Se souvenir d’Edith Cavell de manière appropriée aujourd’hui

Dans sa cellule, la veille de son exécution, son ami, le révérend. Stirling Gahan, a déclaré à Edith Cavell:

“Nous nous souviendrons toujours de toi comme d’une héroïne et d’un martyr”.

Edith Cavell a répondu: «Ne pensez pas à moi comme ça – ne pensez à moi que comme une infirmière qui a essayé de faire son devoir».

Elle a poursuivi: «Comme je le fais en vue de Dieu et de l’éternité, je me rends compte que le patriotisme ne suffit pas: je ne dois avoir ni haine ni d’amertume envers qui que ce soit.

Commanditaires

L’évêque de Norwich et la cathédrale de Norwich, The Maids Head Hotel

Cavell Court Nursing Home, École secondaire Cringleford Norwich pour filles,

La planche est également en mémoire de Sylvia (une infirmière courageuse).

 

Voir plus sur Edith Cavell et les sites associés à Norwich, Swardeston et Bruxelles

et sur les sponsors de ce forum sur www.edithcavell.org.uk/2018

2018

2018 interpretation board by Edith Cavell’s statue in Tombland by Norwich Cathedral.

Edith Cavell statue outside Norwich Cathedral

This interpretation  board was ‘launched’ on Saturday October 13th, 100 years and a day after the statue was unveiled by Queen Alexandra on the third anniversary of the execution of Edith Cavell. See here for further background information.

 

 

 

 

 

Swain 2 of unveiling 1918

Sponsors of the interpretation board by the statue:

Norwich Cathedral https://www.cathedral.org.uk

The Bishop of Norwich https://www.dioceseofnorwich.org/about/bishops/norwich/

The Maids Head Hotel, Tombland opposite the statue https://www.maidsheadhotel.co.uk

Care UK’s Cavell Court Nursing home Cringleford http://www.careuk.com/care-homes/cavell-court-cringleford

Norwich High School for Girls (GDST) http://www.norwichhigh.gdst.net/

Their generous sponsorship of the expenditure on  creating and installing this board is gratefully acknowledged.

IMG_2437

Text of the board

195-france162-germany128-spain013-italy237-netherlands063-japan

The board reads:

EDITH CAVELL 

born December 4 1865 – executed October 12 1915

Edith Cavell was the first of four children of the vicar of Swardeston. She worked as a governess in the east of England and Brussels. Aged 30 she returned to care for her sick father and then enrolled as a trainee nurse, wanting to do ‘something useful for people’.   After nursing for ten years in the poorest parts of London and Manchester, in 1907 she moved to Brussels to create the first Belgian professional nurse training school.

In Norfolk in July 1914 on holiday with her widowed mother, she chose to return to Brussels to support her nurses as war was imminent. Under the German occupation she secretly hid British and French soldiers, often wounded, in her clinique and helped them to freedom in Holland. [Four are shown here: Sergeant Fred Meachin and Colonel Dudley Boger, Cheshire Regiment, Private Billy Mapes and Sergeant Jesse Tunmore, Royal  Norfolk Regiment ]. She and all involved knew they risked being shot for this.

Why is she remembered?

In nine months Edith took in over 200 soldiers. Eventually she and her network were betrayed. Thirty five were arrested, interrogated and tried by a German military court. She and a colleague were shot at dawn on October 12 1915.

Her high standards, her courage and her love for those in need, even at the risk of her own life, grew out of her strong Christian faith.  On May 15 1919 she was buried at the east end of Norwich Cathedral after a national memorial service in Westminster Abbey

This statue and its location

This statue was created by Henry Pegram.  Funded by public subscription, it was unveiled by Queen Alexandra on October 12 1918.  The huge numbers who attended  are visible in the photograph.  Five Cavell Rest Homes for Nurses were opened from 1917 in her memory, all funded by public subscription, The sixth was opened in October 1918 in premises now occupied by the Maids Head Hotel across the street.

Remembering Edith Cavell appropriately today

In her cell on the night before her execution her friend, Revd. Stirling Gahan, said to Edith Cavell:

We shall always remember you as a heroine and as a martyr’.

Edith Cavell replied: ‘Don’t think of me like that – think of me only as a nurse who tried to do her duty’.

She continued: ‘Standing as I do in view of God and eternity,

I realise that patriotism is not enough: I must have no hatred or bitterness towards anyone.’ 

Sponsors

The Bishop of Norwich and Norwich Cathedral             The Maids Head Hotel

Cavell Court Nursing Home, Cringleford                         Norwich High School for Girls

The board is also in memory of Sylvia (a brave nurse).

See more on Edith Cavell and the sites associated with her in Norwich, Swardeston and Brussels and on the sponsors of this board at www.edithcavell.org.uk/2018