German

EDITH CAVELL

geboren am 4. Dezember 1865 – am 12. Oktober 1915 ausgeführt

Edith Cavell war das erste von vier Kindern des Vikars von Swardeston. Sie arbeitete als Gouvernante im Osten Englands und in Brüssel. Im Alter von 30 Jahren kehrte sie zurück, um sich um ihren kranken Vater zu kümmern, und schrieb sich dann als Krankenschwester ein, um etwas Nützliches für die Menschen zu tun. Nachdem sie zehn Jahre lang in den ärmsten Teilen von London und Manchester gestillt war, zog sie 1907 nach Brüssel, um die erste belgische Berufsfachschule für Krankenschwestern zu gründen.

In Norfolk im Juli 1914 in den Ferien mit ihrer verwitweten Mutter entschied sie sich, nach Brüssel zurückzukehren, um ihre Krankenschwestern zu unterstützen, da der Krieg unmittelbar bevorstand. Unter der deutschen Besatzung versteckte sie heimlich britische und französische Soldaten, oft verwundet, in ihrer Klinik und half ihnen in die Freiheit in Holland. [Vier sind hier gezeigt: Sergeant Fred Meachin und Colonel Dudley Boger, Cheshire-Regiment, Private Billy Mapes und Sergeant Jesse Tunmore, Royal Norfolk Regiment]. Sie und alle Beteiligten wussten, dass sie es riskierten, dafür erschossen zu werden.

Warum erinnert sie sich?

 In neun Monaten hat Edith über 200 Soldaten aufgenommen. Schließlich wurden sie und ihr Netzwerk betrogen. Fünfunddreißig wurden verhaftet, verhört und von einem deutschen Militärgericht vor Gericht gestellt. Sie und ein Kollege wurden am 12. Oktober 1915 im Morgengrauen erschossen.

Ihr hoher Anspruch, ihr Mut und ihre Liebe zu den Bedürftigen, selbst auf eigene Gefahr, erwuchs aus ihrem starken christlichen Glauben. Am 15. Mai 1919 wurde sie am östlichen Ende der Kathedrale von Norwich nach einer nationalen Gedenkfeier in der Westminster Abbey begraben

 Diese Statue und ihre Lage

 Diese Statue wurde von Henry Pegram geschaffen. Am 12. Oktober 1918 wurde es von Königin Alexandra enthüllt. Die große Zahl der Besucher ist auf dem Foto zu sehen. Fünf Cavell Rest Homes für Krankenschwestern wurden ab 1917 zu ihrem Andenken eröffnet, alle finanziert durch öffentliche Subskription. Die sechste wurde im Oktober 1918 in Räumlichkeiten eröffnet, die jetzt vom Maids Head Hotel auf der anderen Straßenseite besetzt sind.

An Edith Cavell heute angemessen erinnern

 In ihrer Zelle in der Nacht vor ihrer Hinrichtung war ihr Freund Revd. Stirling Gahan, sagte zu Edith Cavell:

“Wir werden dich immer als Heldin und als Märtyrer in Erinnerung“.

Edith Cavell antwortete: “Denk nicht so an mich – denke nur an mich als Krankenschwester, die ihre Pflicht tun wollte.” Sie fuhr fort: “Ich stehe wie Gott und die Ewigkeit, Mir ist klar, dass Patriotismus nicht genug ist: Ich muss keinen Hass oder Verbitterung gegenüber jemandem haben. ”

Sponsoren

Der Bischof von Norwich und Norwich Cathedral         Das Maids Head Hotel

Cavell Court Pflegeheim, Cringleford           Norwich High School für Mädchen

Das Brett ist auch in Erinnerung an Sylvia (eine tapfere Krankenschwester).

 

Sehen Sie mehr über Edith Cavell und die mit ihr verbundenen Orte in Norwich, Swardeston und Brüssel und über die Sponsoren dieses Boards auf www.edithcavell.org.uk/2018

2018

2018 interpretation board by Edith Cavell’s statue in Tombland by Norwich Cathedral.

Edith Cavell statue outside Norwich Cathedral

This interpretation  board was ‘launched’ on Saturday October 13th, 100 years and a day after the statue was unveiled by Queen Alexandra on the third anniversary of the execution of Edith Cavell. See here for further background information.

 

 

 

 

 

Swain 2 of unveiling 1918

Sponsors of the interpretation board by the statue:

Norwich Cathedral https://www.cathedral.org.uk

The Bishop of Norwich https://www.dioceseofnorwich.org/about/bishops/norwich/

The Maids Head Hotel, Tombland opposite the statue https://www.maidsheadhotel.co.uk

Care UK’s Cavell Court Nursing home Cringleford http://www.careuk.com/care-homes/cavell-court-cringleford

Norwich High School for Girls (GDST) http://www.norwichhigh.gdst.net/

Their generous sponsorship of the expenditure on  creating and installing this board is gratefully acknowledged.

IMG_2437

Text of the board

195-france162-germany128-spain013-italy237-netherlands063-japan

The board reads:

EDITH CAVELL 

born December 4 1865 – executed October 12 1915

Edith Cavell was the first of four children of the vicar of Swardeston. She worked as a governess in the east of England and Brussels. Aged 30 she returned to care for her sick father and then enrolled as a trainee nurse, wanting to do ‘something useful for people’.   After nursing for ten years in the poorest parts of London and Manchester, in 1907 she moved to Brussels to create the first Belgian professional nurse training school.

In Norfolk in July 1914 on holiday with her widowed mother, she chose to return to Brussels to support her nurses as war was imminent. Under the German occupation she secretly hid British and French soldiers, often wounded, in her clinique and helped them to freedom in Holland. [Four are shown here: Sergeant Fred Meachin and Colonel Dudley Boger, Cheshire Regiment, Private Billy Mapes and Sergeant Jesse Tunmore, Royal  Norfolk Regiment ]. She and all involved knew they risked being shot for this.

Why is she remembered?

In nine months Edith took in over 200 soldiers. Eventually she and her network were betrayed. Thirty five were arrested, interrogated and tried by a German military court. She and a colleague were shot at dawn on October 12 1915.

Her high standards, her courage and her love for those in need, even at the risk of her own life, grew out of her strong Christian faith.  On May 15 1919 she was buried at the east end of Norwich Cathedral after a national memorial service in Westminster Abbey

This statue and its location

This statue was created by Henry Pegram.  Funded by public subscription, it was unveiled by Queen Alexandra on October 12 1918.  The huge numbers who attended  are visible in the photograph.  Five Cavell Rest Homes for Nurses were opened from 1917 in her memory, all funded by public subscription, The sixth was opened in October 1918 in premises now occupied by the Maids Head Hotel across the street.

Remembering Edith Cavell appropriately today

In her cell on the night before her execution her friend, Revd. Stirling Gahan, said to Edith Cavell:

We shall always remember you as a heroine and as a martyr’.

Edith Cavell replied: ‘Don’t think of me like that – think of me only as a nurse who tried to do her duty’.

She continued: ‘Standing as I do in view of God and eternity,

I realise that patriotism is not enough: I must have no hatred or bitterness towards anyone.’ 

Sponsors

The Bishop of Norwich and Norwich Cathedral             The Maids Head Hotel

Cavell Court Nursing Home, Cringleford                         Norwich High School for Girls

The board is also in memory of Sylvia (a brave nurse).

See more on Edith Cavell and the sites associated with her in Norwich, Swardeston and Brussels and on the sponsors of this board at www.edithcavell.org.uk/2018